Online Alcohol Therapy |  Do you need professional help? |  Alcoholism & Recovery Articles |  Self Help Resources

Re: Break Up.......So Confused

New Members thread, SOS thread, Daily chat and Support, Cutting Down, Abstinence and more.
Roxiey

Post by Roxiey » 14 Dec 2011 19:27

Hello

I am new to BE and am so glad I found it as feeling so low. My friends and family are worn out with me I think even though I have had massive support. I have finally finally split with my partner after 14 years. So many problems with his behaviour have been with alcohol and I have lived with it for so many years I feel it is normal and it is up to me to fix it.

I had a difficult childhood and many of my parents problems I felt were my fault for not being a good enough child, not being academic or musical enough and they had massive problems that I blamed myself for and still do as I couldn't fix their relationship. If I can't fix something I think it's my fault and hate myself for it.

My partner's drinking has been so heavy but he is a huge and massive character and everyone thinks he is the most amazing and entertaining person ever. We had some great years but he would always drink from about 4pm daily in the pub - bills went unpaid as they weren't a priority. His moods started to get bad about 5 years ago and he would have vile moods and be verbally abusive - again I thought it was my fault as I had made him do it.

I left after a very bad time about 4 years ago as was afraid I would be badly hurt but I went back as he was so so sorry and I felt guilty due to his misery. When he doesn't drink he is so calm and serene. When he drinks, a monster erupts and I shake in terror though he has never hit me and I get confused as always relate domestic violence to physical assault and bruises and broken bones, but I suppose he has bruised and broken my mind even though you can't see it.