Online Alcohol Therapy |  Do you need professional help? |  Alcoholism & Recovery Articles |  Self Help Resources

Boyfriend's Drinking Breaking My Heart

Partners, families, children and friends - they all get affected by your drinking.
Des0528

Boyfriend's Drinking Breaking My Heart

Post by Des0528 » 19 Oct 2011 20:00

Hi,I'm new to this so please bare with me. Here is my story:

My boyfriend and I have been together going on 5 years now. I'm 22 and he is 25. When I first met him, at a party nonetheless, he was drinking so heavily that he would vomit blood. That should have been my first clue. I figured it was just because he was in a rough relationship and just needed the right person to be with. Well things soon changed and his drinking eased up and the vomiting of blood stopped, but the drinking was definitely still a problem. I've always approached him about it, he usually eases up for a week or so, then it's right back to where he started. He has never really been physically violent, we've pushed each other around here and there, but definitely emotionally and verbally. Now I'm not saying he is like this all the time, but if one wrong thing ticks him off, he gets in a mood and doesn't stop.

About a year ago, he was in a bad 4wheeler accident, because he was drunk, and ended up in the hospital, banged and bruised, with a tiny amount of blood on his brain. That was a huge scare for all of us. He spent the next couple months sober, and honestly that was the best time of my life. He was the person I loved and cared so deeply about, the man I wanted to be with.