Online Alcohol Therapy |  Do you need professional help? |  Alcoholism & Recovery Articles |  Self Help Resources

Unhappy New Year's Eve....

Partners, families, children and friends - they all get affected by your drinking.
Puttingonabraveface

Unhappy New Year's Eve....

Post by Puttingonabraveface » 31 Dec 2011 20:28

Hi I'm new to this web site but unfortunately not new to the horrible effects living with an alcoholic can bring to your life. I am sat here by myself on New Year's Eve in tears. My husband and I had had an invitation to go out but we decided to stay in.... That was until he went on a binge last night and I haven't seen him since. I didn't get much sleep last night not knowing if he was dead in a ditch, I got a call this morning and he sounded OK, he said there was a problem at work and that he had to stay to sort it, he didn't sound like he had had a heavy night... but since I got that phone call I have heard nothing which is always a good sign that he is on the beer. How long do I keep hanging on? If I had somewhere to go I would. My parents are elderly, father is not well (had heart surgery earlier in the year) and to be honest although I love them dearly they aren't fun loving people and I think they would drag me down further. I have a daughter who lives in a flat (she had to get away from the house due to the problems the drinking caused) and has met a new guy and is in love after being ditched and messed about by her fiance after the wedding dress had been bought, venue booked etc. I don't want to go to her and spoil her happiness, I feel so alone. I have friends but again I don't want to intrude into their family life. I put on my "happy face" people ask if I have had a good weekend and I say "yes, great thanks, you?" My God if only the knew.. I feel as though life has thrown a lot my way (and I do know some people have it so much worse) I lost my sister to cancer a few years ago, I lost my beloved dog last year and my daughter was messed a